Now in its fifth edition, the Interaction Awards recognize and celebrate examples of excellence in Interaction Design across domains, channels, environments, and cultures.

With participation from all over the world, the Interaction Awards reflect the diversity of the global interaction design community and the need for a common recognition platform based in standards of excellence that represent the breadth and impact of interaction design. The Interaction Awards platform serves as a reference for designers and businesses alike to build upon in the coming years, providing tangible examples of exemplary work in the following categories.


Facilitating communication between people and communities.


Capturing attention, creating delight and delivering meaning.


Enabling people to go beyond their limits.


Encouraging self-expression and/or creativity.


Re-imagining completely an existing product or service by creating new behaviours, usages or markets.


Making daily activities more efficient.

Entries are peer-reviewed by the IxDA member community then an international jury evaluates short-listed projects for context, impact, craft and overall presentation to determine the winners.


February 11

2015 winners announced

July 1

2016 call for entries opens

September 27 (Extended deadline)

2016 call for entries closes (11:59pm Pacific Time (PST))


Online peer review by IxDA member community


Short list announced


Jury weekend



Finalists announced


People’s Choice voting opens

March 2-4

Finalists’ work exhibited during Interaction16

March 3

People’s Choice voting closes

March 4

Finalists recognized and winners announced during the Interaction Awards ceremony at Interaction16 closing party

March 13

Shortlist, finalist and winning entries recognized in the 2016 digital yearbook, our interaction design legacy

Event Partners